Promotion Requirements


The table below indicates the rating codes for Grade 10 – 12.  These codes are used by the Education Department to indicate the various levels of achievement by the students.  The ‘marks’ in the right hand column equate the new system to the marks that were awarded previously.

(Seven Levels of Achievement)

Rating Code Rating  Marks %
 7 Outstanding achievement 80 – 100
 6 Meritorious achievement 70 – 79
 5 Substantial achievement 60 – 69
 4 Moderate achievement 50 – 59
3 Adequate achievement 40 – 49
2 Elementary achievement 30 – 39
1 Not achieved 0 – 29


The minimum levels that a student must reach in order to pass Grade 10 – 12 are indicated below.  However, this would not guarantee entrance to university.  As is the case at present, all universities have their own admission requirements to their various faculties.  These will be considered higher than the minimum requirement for a pass in Grade 12.

Promotion and Certification requirements

In order to be promoted from one grade to another and/or to qualify for a National Senior Certificate at the conclusion of Grade 12 [a qualification at Level 4 on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF)] a student has to achieve:

40% in three subjects, one of which must be an official language at Home Language level

30% in three other subjects